The Hex of the CONCACAF qualifiers

The 1998 FIFA World Cup was the first tournament of this kind to feature 32 teams. Making online betting from 1xBet website is now possible on all editions of this incredible competition. The previous edition of the championship had 24 spots. Because of this expansion, all continents got extra spots for their qualifiers.

CONCACAF, which is the zone that covers North America, the Caribbean and Central America was not the exception. You can make online betting from the 1xBet website on all qualifiers for the FIFA World Cup too.

Because of those extra places in the World Cup, all areas, including CONCACAF, overhauled the format of their qualifiers. The new format adopted by this confederation began to feature a series of preliminary rounds that eliminated low-ranked teams in the FIFA. All of this took teams into the final round, which is an hexagonal called the Hex, which was played between the 1998 and 2018 qualifiers.

A battle between six teams

The Hex is an exciting qualifying round that features six teams that qualify from previous rounds. Head on to the website – profitable live betting can be made on all matches played in this instance.

The teams play a double round-robin, meaning that everybody plays against all their rivals in home and away matches. The top three teams qualify for the corresponding FIFA World Cup. Originally, the bottom three squads didn’t go to the tournament. If you think you know which teams will qualify and which not, you should try the profitable live betting at the 1xBet website.

However, from the 2006 FIFA World Cup qualifiers, the fourth-placed team had the chance to go to an intercontinental play-off.

Constant participants

There have been many teams that constantly have secured their participation in the Hex. This means their chances of going to the FIFA World Cup increase substantially. The absolute best betting football is on 1xBet, and it can be used to wager on all those squads. The teams in question are:

  • Mexico;
  • the United States;
  • and Costa Rica.

Out of those teams, Mexico is the only squad that has always qualified to the tournament. However, in 2014 they were forced to play an Intercontinental play-off against New Zealand after finishing in a disappointing fourth place.

The United States had qualified for all the tournaments except for the 2018 FIFA World Cup. They also had a disappointing performance in the Hex of those qualifiers, as they finished in fifth place.

Costa Rica has also had some interesting performances. The only FIFA World Cup they failed to qualify for after the Hex was the 1998 edition. The best football betting is on 1xBet, and punters can use this platform to always wager on the great Hex.


  • Sawyer Bennett

    Sawyer Bennett is a global strategy advisor on Educational and career Impact. He is an award-winning thought leader in innovation, digital transformation and emergent technologies, notably blockchain, artificial intelligence, machine learning and robotics. A member of the Forbes Technology Council, Sawyer Bennett is also an accomplished author with regular contributions to leading business, technology and academic publications.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *